I’ve got a plan….

Oh I have been a busy girl lately- so busy that I have not paid much attention to this blog….

However, twas all with good reason. I just turned 39 and had a fantastic birthday. So much that I’ve decided that with such a great start, 39 is going to kick some ass. As such, I’ve devised a “40 x 40” list, a la Maggie Mason’s Mighty Life List, to increase the chances of said kickassery and awesomeness.

Do you have a list? I’d love to hear what you have on slate…some bigger ticket bucket list items did not make the cut, like a hot air balloon ride, or Italian trips or such, but hey, we’ve gotta save some for later, right? Also, I am quite the nerd with not so much of a wild streak, so the more adventurous out there might find the list a smidge tame. S’all good. To each thier own and all that.

Without further ado……

  1. Drop 30 pounds- and maintain! I’m down 22 and would be thrilled to keep on with it….say it with me a la Tony Little…..you can dooooo eeeeeet!
  2. Publish something, a poem, short story, something.
  3. Debunk the house- aim to live simply
  4. Take kids on a dream vacation
  5. Catch an NFL game – Already planned for and tickets purchased. Broncos game in Oct. with my familia!
  6. Attend ComicCon- IN COSTUME (Oh dear.  Wonder Woman? Storm? Elastigirl??? How to choose?!?!?)
  7. Take the fam to the Renaissance Festival – Document every single spectacular moment of people watching.
  8. Get a group together to see a drive-in movie.
  9. Go hiking. Not walking in the mountains for 20 minutes, but actual HIKING.
  10. Complete the C25K program
  11. Actually RUN a 5k
  12. Bake a Guiness Chocolate cake
  13. Do yoga without whining and/or cussing out the instructor (I admittedly suck at yoga. So much I dislike it, but I do recognize there are benefits so….)
  14. Travel a bit.
  15. Stick my toes in the ocean
  16. Take a photography class
  17. Sleep under the stars (even if just for awhile)
  18. Design/create something beautiful
  19. Get a tattoo. Small one.  (Yikes. Maybe this one, maybe not. I promise to sub in an alternate list item should I chicken out).
  20. Plant, and not kill, a small container garden (Oh this is big. I kinda kill all green things. Wish me luck.)
  21. Go to a roller derby match
  22. Frame all of my favorite photos- create a gallery of them in my home
  23. Take a fun cooking class
  24. Knit a scarf. All the way.
  25. Compile all of the family recipes into a book
  26. Grow and make my own mint tea
  27. Travel out of the US with my daughters
  28. Get dressed up and take my family out for a super fancy dinner
  29. Read the Bible
  30. Spend a weekend at a bed and breakfast
  31. Go fishing
  32. Have a photo shoot w. Play the Pin Up at Tahlulah
  33. Raise a puppy (The pup arrives in 5 weeks- a sweet bulldog we plan to name Lola. SUPER excited!)
  34. Take a professional family photo
  35. Ride a rollercoaster with my daughters
  36. Learn to stop thinking/talking long enough to meditate (Admittedly, this will be hard. I can never turn off the brain. People accuse me of not being able to lighten up sometimes…..)
  37. Renew my faith (I used to be so focused, and somehow, life has gotten in the way of my spirituality as an every day awareness. I think this renewal will feel like going home…)
  38. Do something to help via charity or community service
  39. Visit the Grand Canyon (Road trip!!!)
  40. Have a HUGE “I’m turning 40” birthday bash- and launch an even bigger 50×50…..
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to I’ve got a plan….

  1. LOVE!!! I want to do the C25k program too. Perhaps we can get started together. Have fun with this, Melis. It will be amazing! BTW – You realize to get this done in 1 year, you’ll have to do at least 3 per month. WOWZA!! You keeeen duuuuu it!!

  2. Wow, great list! I’m 50 in two years, so my list would have to be even longer!

    I was reading it thinking, “Done that. Done that. Done that…” Funny to think that some things which are (or have been) commonplace to me should be on your to-do list! But I am right with you on the drive-in movie thing – I’d love to go….but we don’t have them in the UK! And definitely the Grand Canyon (if you do go, put your names down for The Wave – my friends went and it’s awesome in every sense of the word)! I couldn’t do the rollercoaster thing though – I tried, and my daughter was embarrassed! LOL!

    So what would my list have? I’m not sure I can get to 50 but there are certainly a few:

    1. Be maintaining my goal weight and size.
    2. Be fitter than I’ve ever been in my life.
    3. Run the London or Venice Marathon….or both!
    4. Go scuba diving in the Aegean again.
    5. Take amato mio to Turkey.
    6. Get home to Venexia at least once more BEFORE I hit 50, and then return in the winter of my 50th…maybe for Christmas.
    7. Have a large family gathering to celebrate my birthday, and also our tenth anniversary.
    8. Not be working from contract to contract – although I’m rarely without work, I’d rather have something a bit more reliable.

    OK, that was rubbish – I didn’t even get to 10! I’ll have to see if I can think of some more!

    N xx

  3. Toni says:

    And here i was expecting some Names on this list! LOL

  4. Conchita says:

    Hmmm…. Let’s go to Disneyland next summer and you can scratch off 4, 14, 15, & 35… 🙂

  5. Magnus says:

    I know its cliche but jump out of an airplane. I tell you its the best! See if you can talk the girls into it. The more the merrier.

Leave a Reply

