Faith

Nuestra Senora del Sagrado Rosario church, built in 1805. Truchas, NM

I went to church here on Sunday.

 #37 on my 40×40 list, was “Renew my faith…..as an every day awareness”. I’ve been trying hard at it, by practicing more gratitude, and trying to be more of all of the good things that my particular form of faith (Christianity)practices. Forgiving. Loving. Kind. Understanding. Humble.

Faith is an all at once complicated and simple thing, sometimes. To have faith, in something unseen but known, can be as simple as breathing. Is, as simple as breathing. To practice in that faith, and stay true to its tenets, can be a little more difficult. It’s possible, for sure, but it’s sometimes harder than we think, what with all of that imperfect human-ness out there.

I won’t get all preachy, for I fully appreciate the varied forms of faith in this big world, and I know mine isn’t the only way to be, but I will say this: it feels good to be connected to the benevolent bigness of God. When I am safely tethered, everything is better. The sky is bluer and the air is sweeter. The trying things in life…they seem insignificant in the face of such blessing.

So can I cross that off my list? Is it as simple as making it a priority to have conversations with God in the morning and pray for the people in my life? I don’t know….maybe it’s not something that can ever be crossed off – maybe a renewal of faith is a constant, daily effort, but I feel like I am making progress.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Faith

  1. Cheryl says:

    Very well said, my friend. Don’t do any “crossing” is my guess. My faith is always in need of tending. xo

  2. So absolutely perfect. Faith is a constant work in progress. It is always in moments of bliss and contentment when we start to forget to be grateful. The daily thanks gets replaced with schedules or lists or the next cup of cup, bills to pay, or other people’s negativity. Then we start the whole “woe is me” cycle again and wonder what the hell is wrong with this situation. It can become detrimental to our spirit to get lazy about our faith, appreciation, gratitude, enjoyment, positive manifestation.
    No. It should never be crossed off the list. More people need to be reminded to put it on theirs.

    When you dance, your purpose is not to get to a certain place on the floor. It’s to enjoy each step along the way.
    Wayne Dyer

    Your children will see what you’re all about by what you live rather than what you say.
    Wayne Dyer

Leave a Reply

