Day 4 Post

Seriously

1. I had a needle-like instrument stuck in each eye today, to test the thickness of my cornea for potential lasik surgery. Result: My corneas are skinny. It might be the only thing about me that is. Also, the notion of needle in eye? CREEPY.

2. My Teenager and I almost launched WW III in the car on the way home. Thankfully peace talks prevailed and negotiations proved successful. We shall live to see another day.

3. I have yet to best Shoot Bubble level 99. No one is surprised.

4. I almost never put much stock in astrology, but every now and then I come across Free Will Astrology, and it’s actually entertaining in a quasi-almost coincidental and witty/poetic kind of way. Mine for this week, read today at my local Starbucks…

“There are works which wait, and which one does not understand for a long time,” said Oscar Wilde. “The reason is that they bring answers to questions which have not yet been raised; for the question often arrives a terribly long time after the answer.” I predict that sometime soon, Leo, you will prove that wisdom true. You will finally learn the brilliant question whose crucial answer you got years ago. When it arrives, you will comprehend a mystery that has been churning in the semi-darkness all this time.

Mysterious, no? Intriguing, yes? Time will tell.

5. Speaking of the local Starbucks. I popped in to try a vanilla blonde roast, prior to my appointment for eye needling, and found myself surrounded by the sound of many foreign tongues. Moms with their kids in strollers, chatting away in what I could tell was Russian, and French. It was quite the continental experience for Small Town, NM, I must say.

6. Poem read to me by Little Teenager just mere seconds ago, who loves “the serene image in my mind, omg”. (!)

Silver

Slowly, silently, now the moon
Walks the night in her silver shoon;
This way, and that, she peers, and sees
Silver fruit upon silver trees;
One by one the casements catch
Her beams beneath the silvery thatch;
Couched in his kennel, like a log,
With paws of silver sleeps the dog;
From their shadowy cote the white breasts peep
Of doves in silver feathered sleep
A harvest mouse goes scampering by,
With silver claws, and silver eye;
And moveless fish in the water gleam,
By silver reeds in a silver stream.

Walter de la Mare

Question. What, pray tell, is a shoon? One wonders…..

That’s all I got. Good luck and good night!

Fake NaBloPoMo Get Off Your Ass and Blog Day 4 Status:

Is this thing on?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Day 4 Post

  1. Rebecca says:

    According to online dictionary = a shoon is a british word used for the plural a shoe. I guess shoes don’t ryhme with moon. Doesn’t make much sense though, unless you’re not British.

Leave a Reply

